New Jersey Democratic Socialists of America
New Jersey Democratic Socialists of AmericaNJ DSA Menu

DSA National: Black Health, Black Liberation Call 1: #CareNotCops

I want to invite you to the first in our Black Health, Black Liberation call series! This Tuesday, 9/1 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT, join us for #CareNotCops.

act.dsausa.org/survey/black_health_black_liberation

Police brutality and the prison industrial complex are public health crises caused by state-sanctioned violence against Black people. And because of structural racism, Black and Brown communities have been hardest hit by COVID-19. Join us to hear how movements like Medicare for All can meet this moment, especially in the time of COVID-19.

The first panel, #CareNotCops, will focus on the movement to defund the police, the need to reinvest in Black health, and the health consequences of the prison industrial complex, and the need for transformative and healing justice.

Our AfroSocialist and Socialists of Color Caucus and Medicare for All campaign, together with Center for Popular Democracy (CPD) Action, Healthy California Now, People’s Action, and Physicians for a National Health Program, are co-hosting the Black Health, Black Liberation series through Fall 2020.

Join us Tuesday, 9/1 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT to hear from activists and organizers fighting at the intersection of healthcare and Black liberation! Our panelists will be Greg Akili of Black Lives Matter Los Angeles, Oluchi Omeoga of Black Visions Collective, and Dr. Robert Fullilove of Columbia University, with moderator Jeanna Harris.

Date & Time

September 1st, 2020
8:00pm–9:30pm

Location